• must-visit

South America vs. North America: what are the main cultural differences?

The world consists of seven continents, namely Africa, Asia, South America, North America, Europe, Antarctica, and Australia. People often wondered the difference between South America and North America, what makes them different.

Two continents

South America and North America are two individual continents in the Western Hemisphere, or west of the prime meridian. South America is located in the South Hemisphere, or south of the equator, and North America is in the Northern Hemisphere, or north of the equator. Both continents are regarded as the Americas.


The culture of North America is greatly influenced by the British, and a huge influence from the Western culture. They also have a cowboy culture. North America is very supportive and enthusiastic about their sports of American football, baseball, ice hockey, and football (soccer).

The South America culture is largely influenced by the indigenous residents, the historic link between the Iberian Peninsula and Africa, and the seas of settlers from all over the world. South America are proud of their sports in football, baseball, basketball, polo, cycling, futsal, volleyball, rugby, motorsports, tennis, handball, field hockey, golf, and boxing.

Area and population

The third largest continent according to area is North America, with 24,709,000 km2 (9,540,000 sq mi), and the fourth is South America with 17,840,000 km2 (6,890,000 sq mi). And in term of population, North America is the fourth populous continent with almost 579 million residents, and South America is the fifth with more than 420 million residents. It was in 18,000BC when people called Paleo-Indians (Paleoindians) or Paleoamericans started to inhabit the lands.


North America has 23 official independent countries under it, while South America has only 12 official independent countries. North America countries are Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, and United States.

South America countries are Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

Languages, time zones

North America has predominant languages of English, French, Spanish, and many more, and South America has Portuguese, Spanish and many more languages. The time zone in North America is UTC-10 to UTC, while South America is UTC-2 to UTC-5.


In North America, the subarctic climate overcomes the north, and it slowly warms towards the south and eventually develops tropical as it comes closer to the southern isthmus. While in South America, as the north has a tropical climate, it travels southward and becomes cooler, and finally converts into a cold, marine west coast climate.


North America is a much more developed continent compared to South America. There are many factories and manufacturers in North America, and they produce varying products. In the south, there are fewer factories, and many farmers producing their on crops. North America is a modern world with various possibilities, while South America is more laid back and strong on tradition.

By | 2018-11-28T13:17:59+00:00 November 15th, 2018|Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment